Hi… Nice to Meet You

Hello! My name is Niamh. I am a 20 year old Dubliner, living with a degenerative rare disease; I began this blog because I would like to share my extraordinary life dealing with these drastic changes.

My goals for this blog are: To draw attention to and highlight the strength of those who face drastic change in life , and receive little recognition for their bravery. 

To change some people of this society’s views of others; who have endured an injury and, in my opinion, are belittled by those who perceive that there is no personality behind a person’s difficulty.

When I was three years old, I was diagnosed with a rare illness called Langerhans Cell Histiocytosis; or LCH for short. It effects one child out of 200,000. Seven years ago, when I was 13, complications started regarding my walking; roughly 3-4 years later I was told that I was having activity from this disease in the cerebellum (part of the brain which controls coordination and motor skills). I degenerated from walking, to assistance; to other methods of getting around ie. segway; to evidently the wheelchair, All confined within seven years.

My blog is for those of you who are interested in medical stories or attracted to human interest stories.

Similar blogs: http://lifeintheblueridges.wordpress.com/

                                   http://fearblandness.com/

To ­teach each reader not to take their lifestyle for granted; as it may be your last day in those shoes. 

“And once the storm is over, you won’t remember how you made it through, how you managed to survive. You won’t even be sure, whether the storm is really over. But one thing is certain. When you come out of the storm, you won’t be the same person who walked in. That’s what this storm’s all about.”

― Haruki Murakami.

Picture

Leave a Reply

