My Distraction

In 2009 a new boy band fascination had entered my life. Jack the Lad Swing, also known as: JLS. They had entered the reality talent show The X Factor UK the year before. They had released their first single by the time I became intrigued with their music.

There were four members to JLS; Marvin Humes, Oritsé Williams, Aston Merrygold and JB Gill. JLS were the key to helping me get through the hard times in my life. With no concrete friends in school any more and no social life outside of school. JLS were my life. Joining forums, and interacting with other JLS fans reinforced my fondness for them.

By 2010 I was fully hooked. JLS were my favourite artists. My room was covered with posters, their song as my phone ringtones and owning JLS branded clothes. This was the first lift in my life since it all turned down hill.

It wasn’t just their music; it was their personalities, attitudes and their humbleness to their fans for their founded success, which attracted me towards them. One of the members, Oritsé Williams, had also gone through a similar storyline to me. Although not affecting him, his mum was diagnosed with MS when he was 12 years old. I immediately felt as if there was a connection between myself and him. He too had faced change, loss and sacrifice; as I had.

I knew everything about the band; there wasn’t a single question you could ask me that would go unanswered, and this was all before I had even met them!

At this stage in my life, I was using the Segway for transport; as I could no longer walk independently, but could not face the idea of being linked with a wheelchair without floods of tears.

It was in January 2011 when I had my first chance to see them all at a CD signing. That morning was spent preparing for the happiest 10 seconds of my life. What was I going to say, how would I react in front of them, will I tell them my story in such a public place, who would I hug first. All these questions going around in my head.

I arrived there with the Segway. The security men were whispering to themselves, before I was led upstairs to meet them personally. For health and safety reasons, it wasn’t advised I queue up downstairs.

Finally! I had found a positive reason out of my suffering. I would take that excuse any day as, I was able to meet my idols; and so a pattern developed

Image

I was a JLS fan up until they decided to end the group, which will be in December this year.

Leave a Reply

