If Only They Knew

blog pic 34

In the 21st century, you’d expect all public services to be wheelchair accessible. Yet, there is an app where places are colour coded, depending on their accessibility; green for wheelchair accessible, orange for partial and red for not accessible, which I think is great to have this information. To have an app which can tell us whether or not wheelchair users will have access, prior to our departure.

But what I don’t like, is the fact there are still red zones in Ireland. In this day and age, surely every service should be accessible.
The attitude I feel which is being portrayed by non accessible places is ‘we haven’t thought about your accessibility because you’re an inadequate person’

As pessimistic as it sounds, I know for a fact that this is the attitude taken on by some people.

wheelchair inaccessible dublin (the markers indicate no access for wheelchairs)
I was talking to fellow wheelchair users a couple of months ago, about the perceptions they face by the “fully able” person, to which they all sounded too familiar. I was researching the stereotypes which impaired people are labelled with, to which several apply to me, including: pity ✔(needed to be looked after, pathetic), the bad guy, incapable of a sexual relationship✔(I think my boyfriend would disagree with this one), super criple ✔(inspirational and never asks for help, bitter about life, victims✔ (vulnerable and weak), burden and outcast✔ (cannot contribute to society), incapable of contributing in everyday life✔

I receive these presumptions way too often. My only comeback (although uncertain at the moment), ‘wait until I’m walking again; how stupid will you feel then’.

Society towards those impaired needs a serious kick up the ass. To label a person and treat us ALL like dumb children is extremely ignorant and shallow minded.

I hate being made feel inferior to society, and although I don’t plan to be in a wheelchair for the rest of my life; I am demanding a change regarding EVERYTHING on behalf of the voiceless.

2 thoughts on “If Only They Knew

  1. Nelly this is so true. And do you know what? I think accessibility problems for wheelchairs are in many countries. This is something that citizens should ask the government to tackle much more efficiently as it is both frustrating for wheelchair users and for their friends.
    I also know a girl who is SO NOT like what the “fully-able people” perceive of wheelchair users.
    It’s another battle that has to be undertook through an association to get the same right to access public places!

Leave a Reply

